5 Comments
Jul 22, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Similar to French, “pan” is bread in Spanish. “Actual” actually (ha) means “current” in Spanish rather than its more frequently used meaning of “real” in English. Speaking of the word “real,” it can have the same meaning as the English word, but it also means “royal” in Spanish. I could probably think of more, but those are a few that quickly come to mind!

Expand full comment

Another example - mist - has just crossed my mind! Apologies for lowering the tone...

This may be apocryphal, but Rolls Royce's fabulous car model that became the Silver Ghost had the initial proposed moniker of Silver Mist.

A beautiful name, no?

Not in German!

der Mist: dung, manure, muck.

Also used widely as a swear word, but rather than spelling it out here I'll leave it to your imagination. I'm a nice girl, after all...

Expand full comment

Hmmm, this has got me thinking!

der Brand - German: fire, blaze

brand - English: mark applied using heat to livestock; corporate identity; trademark

These definitions at first glance are completely different, yet the words are certainly related both etymologically and semantically.

Your example of 'vent' is interesting - because if I (in English) 'vent' my anger am I perhaps letting off steam, or blowing my anger away? Yes, probably - which makes it not entirely surprising that the same word is French for 'wind'!

I remember a discussion at university in German between three students: a Brit, an American and a French student, all about how close (or not!) our respective languages were to German.

We talked about the word 'reason' - 'la raison' in French and 'der Grund' in German - at first glance only the French word looks as if it's related to the English one.

But of course another word for 'reason' in English is 'grounds', or 'ground', as in:

Grounds for divorce.

On what grounds do you make your claim? etc etc

But Mark, I'm afraid off the top of my head - although there are loads! - I can't think of any examples for your specific question!

I'll be back once I have......! :D

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Excite ?

Expand full comment
author

Bwa hah hah!

Expand full comment