10 Comments

Mark, I’ve been thinking about your little question all morning here in the PNW. And then I ran across a comment in the “Story Club” substack that seemed so pertinent: “I’m reminded of your piece in TNYer on Grace Paley, “The Saint of Seeing.” In particular, this passage:

“The prime quality of literary prose . . . the thing it does better than any other form . . . is voice. A great writer mimicking, on the page, the dynamic energy of human thought is about as close as we can get to modelling pure empathy . . .Mere straightforward representation is not her game. In fact, she seems to say, the world has no need to be represented . . . What it needs is to be loved better.”

Expand full comment

Ooooh, what a great question!

I read a great deal of non fiction, and in whatever I'm reading I love to get a feel for the writer's voice and personality. If a person is telling their story - and people's own stories of their direct life experience are what I most like to read - then their voice is absolutely crucial. I'll very happily read a memoir by someone I have nothing in common with and with a story that I have no interest in IF the voice of the writer resonates with me.

It's like choosing friends. One's friends tend to be a diverse bunch of peeps, don't they? I have some I have plenty in common with, and some I have nothing in common with at all. But I enjoy the company of all of them - I love them for their personality, and the way we settle into a relationship with each other. And it's the same with the writers I choose.

Expand full comment

I think ideas are the reasons people read your piece, but your voice is the reason people *keep* reading your work.

People like to learn, and will pick up dense books to try and understand a new subject, but will just as quickly put it down if it's too dense or dry. The voice and personality do two things: 1) It makes the point of view clear from the beginning of the piece and makes your work recognizable, and 2) The right tone to the right audience will make them feel like a part of a conversation.

Expand full comment

No way about it: Once you put pen to paper, e.g., post on this site or anywhere else, we hear your voice. But, oh, you knew this was coming: Voice can and should vary depending on the effect you want. I will be teaching this in the Write it! How to get started that is part of my newsletter. Also, Mark, watch your email for one from me maybe later this week. My email so I don't lost in the shuffle is mltabor@me.com

You are one of my big recommendations: Love what you're doing. xo Mary

Expand full comment

For what it's worth, almost every agent and editor I've heard answer the question about, "What do you look for in a submission?" state that voice is one of the most important things. So from a getting-published perspective, voice is very important.

I personally believe it's important, too. Storytelling needs to be engaging, and a strong voice helps with that. It's like personality and charisma on the page. The stronger your personality, the more likely people will sit up and listen.

Great topic!

~Graham

Expand full comment

There are millions of people writing out there, and as someone who reads a lot of work that doesn’t have a voice (research papers), voice is so important for compelling work.

Expand full comment

Funny, my first thought was: how can we avoid hearing it? Indeed, isn’t that all there is?

Expand full comment

Good question, Mark - it made me immediately think of William Blake - he has an unmistakeable use of language, a highly individual mythopoeic universe, a quirky sense of spelling and punctuation, a unique visual style (the illustrations are key parts of his 'voice') ... and he claimed that he was just the secretary and that the authors of his works were 'in eternity' - so whose voice are we really seeking here? To what extent does translucency or opacity of style matter? How can we tell?

Expand full comment
Jul 17, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

It's important for folks like yourself who have a distinct online presence. I'm thinking of the few that I do follow in substack, IG and other places. I follow them because I like their "voice", not just their thoughts.

Expand full comment