50 Comments
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hi all! I'm Oleg, a writer from Lithuania. Starting from next week I'll be adding another layer to my newsletter - The Ray Bradbury Challenge! The gist of the challenge is to read 1 essay, 1 short story and 1 poem a day... for 1000 days! I'm usually not a fan of reading challenges (people flexing their reading lists, which are usually pretty uniform) but this one seems different. And to make it more fun, I'll be sharing my progress every week (in addition to my own essays and stories). Hope it helps others discover new authors and perspectives!

Expand full comment

Hi everyone -- I write about physics/astronomy/climate in general. There seemed to me to be space for a fresh look at cool topics at a level bit above the typical “popular book” but below actual textbooks, especially if you’ve had a bit of college math. If you’re interested, have a look and let me know what you think!

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm Nancy and I live in New York. In my newsletter, I answer student writing and academic questions. I also post dark fiction as part of my "Sunday Reads" series. I am currently writing my novel, so going forward, I'll be talking about my progress.

Expand full comment

Hi, I'm Pipa and I'm just outside Shakespeare famed Stratford upon Avon in England. I've been a broadcaster for 25+ years and am currently an MA Writing student (mature student to be exact!) having completed a really interesting mentorship while writing my memoir last year. I write and podcast about being brave enough to find and be ourselves. I do it through the stories of others and in the past have covered a fair amount with mental health professionals as well. I've only recently started on Substack so still finding my voice, I'm not sure I've got there yet, it's a work in progress!

Expand full comment

Thanks for doing this, Mark! Hello everyone, I write Future Thief (https://brianreindel.substack.com), which is a fiction Substack. Every Wednesday I post a fantasy or science fiction short story, and then every other Sunday I talk about my journey toward paid publication, and where I'm submitting. I would love to have you along for the ride.

Expand full comment

Buenos Días, I’m Crush Sanchez and I live in sunny Los Angeles. I write This is Your Mind Ranting, a weekly newsletter about human behavior, tacos, things I hate on a weekly basis, music, and much more. Every Friday, I post a mini rant about a few things, people, or events that irked me throughout the week. I actually have started up my podcast (same title) a few months back and I’m looking to add a weekly co-host pretty soon. The podcast was started more so as a random thought chat a few years ago, but I’m trying to make it story based as well. I wanted to keep this under wraps but it’s better that I talk about this: I’m planning on releasing a children’s book early next year. So let’s see how that goes. Anywho, thanks to Mr. Dykeman for setting this up and I hope any fellow degenerates check out TIYMR! Enjoy!

Expand full comment

I'm signing up for everyone's substack here. Thank you for sharing!

Expand full comment

Ooooh, great thread - thanks, Mark!

I'm Rebecca, from the south-east coast of the UK. I enjoy walking, and I write mostly - but not exclusively - about how I can get lost pretty much anywhere.

I'm just back from a campervan trip during which my greatest achievement was to NOT get lost walking along part of Hadrian's Wall. Maybe it was cheating to just keep the wall on my left?

Right now I'm looking forward to getting back to my writing after a couple of weeks away.

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Should I be surprised that all of Mark’s readers have super cool newsletters of their own? Probably not.

I write Noted, a newsletter about the world’s best note-takers and what we can learn from them.

Expand full comment

Hi everyone! I’m from the American South. I earned a degree in creative writing eons ago but ended up working as an IT security analyst. Writing didn’t pay the bills, so it took a backseat to working and raising my kids. Now I’m a 47-year-old woman finally consistently doing the thing she loves best--writing!

My little corner of cyberspace--Release and Gather--explores people and community, food and leisure, matters of the heart, and navigating life in a small town in rural Mississippi. I write from personal experiences--like having a son in rehab and being a stem cell donor for my brother who’s battling AML--but I also share what I’m reading (and how it’s helping me), notes I write others, what I’m cooking, and how I feel about old men telling me to have my husband buy me new jeans. You won’t find any one theme, but you will find my authentic voice.

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm Anne, and I live in the Pacific Northwest of the US. I'm Programming Coordinator for a large two-county library system, and despite what people think, as a librarian I've never been able to read books all day. I WISH. My sporadic newsletter is a collection of personal tales, observations of the absurd, and interesting things I feel like writing about (I once did a three-part series on wax museums). I enjoy making art and exploring a variety of media and styles. Cheers!

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hello, I'm James and while I am not a substacker, I do operate a Canadian book review website, The Miramichi Reader.

Expand full comment

Need a laugh? Times are stressful these days. You need to read something funny. I write funny things that have happened to me in the past and in the present day. I also write informative posts that may help you or someone you know. Have fun!

Expand full comment

Hello :) I'm Zachary. I live in Montreal. I very ambitiously tackle current events, especially those affecting Canadians. So far my ambition outpaces my results, but the goal is to bridge that chasm. I'm currently researching the Quebec "situation", in the context of our upcoming provincial elections. I love researching because I love learning. Always a challenge though to synthesize what I've learned into something meaningful and coherent. I did it for years while teaching American history and now I find the same kind of approach is necessary for essay planning/writing. Good day!

Expand full comment

Hi, I'm Stephanie, and I write about risk management in life, in business, and in macro systems like economies, ecologies and societies. Risk management from a human perspective. I'm drawing on years as a financial regulator in IT risk and further years as a technology and operational risk consultant, plus a background as a tech and business journalist. I weave in system dynamics concepts sometimes, since I believe it's a missing link between sciences, engineering, and social sciences. Sometimes I write short, conversational missives, other times in-depth explorations. It's a mixed (but hopefully interesting and eye-opening) bag!

Expand full comment

Hello, I'm Will. I write the Warthog Report, which has both fiction and blog posts. My current fiction project, Battles Beneath The Stars, is written in the style of a fighting game. Each 'playable' character has their own story, and while most scenes are written in script format, the fight scenes are written like a game guide.

I like video games a lot, most of the blog posts on my substack are about them in some way. I also enjoy collecting figures.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hi! I saw you are interacting with my small newsletter so I wanted to return a favor and pitch in.

My name is Ivan and I live in Croatia, the land of Song of Ice and Fire :) (GoT joke)

and I write what I find interesting, be it amazing software to teach kids about physics to coding, industrial design and wacky constructions methods and some of my ideas. I also have a sub/newsletter section about The Lost Knowledge which is my attempt to make a book detailing knowledge any educated person needs to know if they get stuck in 16th century. So, that me in short, hope to hear from more of you at The Barn lab newsletter.

Expand full comment

Hi there! My name is Justin. I write short fiction twice weekly at Along the Hudson (which is where I live, too). I am also starting “Fifties by the Fire”, a biweekly writing prompt in which subscribers can write and read fifty-word stories in response to the challenge.

Expand full comment

Hello all! I write over at The Splendid Mess here on Substack, which is a sometimes funny, sometimes thoughtful publication about this splendidly messy thing we call life. I’m an aspiring children’s book author and doodler who has more projects going than is probably healthy.

Expand full comment

Hi there! I’m Bryn, a curious and creative sort that lives in New Brunswick, like Mark! I write Campfire Notebook (https://brynphd.substack.com), where I talk about sharing science creatively, engaging patients and community in research as partners, and life beyond academia. I just finished a 30 day art challenge for #SciArtSeptember, and am looking at a podcast with a couple folks to share the results of some research we did. Love to learn on here from you all about the craft of writing and science communication.

Expand full comment

Greetings, I'm Ms. Writer from the United States. In my newsletter, Life Matters, I write about various topics based on my personal experiences: relationships, self-realization, self-discovery, codependency, starting over, and growing older. Writing is therapy; hopefully, I can encourage others via shared info and lessons learned.

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm Bryan - expat American who's lived in the UK for the past 20+ years. I write The Bus - a twice-weekly letter which hopefully provides a brief diversion from everything else going on: a different topic, a detour, recommendation, playlist and a thought. I published Issue 50 last week - and tomorrow, it's Volume 2/Issue 2. Not sure how the time has passed so quickly, but it's been fun. Thanks to Mark for these threads - I always end up subscribing to more great substacks each time!

Expand full comment

Hi all! I'm Autumn. I write Wunderkammer here on Substack. I'm also a writer, but I mostly write poetry, plays, and essays. I do occasionally try my hand at fiction as well. My newsletter is focused on finding wonder in the world through literature, film, theater, art. I also write about or write through grief, but it's not entirely everything my Substack focuses on. My essays/articles I write there are mostly about finding beauty in the world, despite all the ugliness, anger, etc that's foisted upon us.

Mark, I'm enjoying your Substack! You're prolific with it. Thanks for creating a community here. Enjoying everything I'm reading and learning from How About This! Thank you.

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm a writer from the UK, currently working on weekly chapters of my science fiction crime thriller and putting the finishing touches to a self-published book version of a previous project. Also gearing up to release on Monday the findings of a survey I ran of online fiction writers.

And now I will peruse all the other comments here.... :)

Expand full comment

Hi everyone! I’m Vanya. I live in London, UK. On my substack, I publish short stories (a novella is coming soon!), essays on different topics and translations from Russian (mostly Chekhov), and audio versions of my stories. Darkly comical, bizarre, satirical, magic realism are a few keywords that describe some of my works, but there’s no limits for topics and themes!

Expand full comment
deletedSep 29, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman
Comment deleted
Expand full comment