8 Comments
Jun 19, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

My wife and I mainly do Thank You cards to others, and we enjoy receiving them. We get blank ones and write our own notes in them.

Expand full comment
Jun 19, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

I like to give small-batch made or homemade cards vs. the Hallmark mass-produced. and personally, I'd much sooner have a hand-drawn card from my son than something from Shoppers card aisle, you know?

i am sentimental as heck, and have kept every card ever given to me for birthdays, special events etc. They are stored in numerous areas. It's the thought that counts, whether it's homemade or not in the end.

Expand full comment

Seeing as I just threw out a pile of cards I’d stuffed into a drawer - a waste! Unless they’re handmade.

Expand full comment

I think cards are wasteful - both from the paper perspective and from the fact it costs far too much these days to post one internationally. But as my parents love to get them, I use an app that allows me to send postcards of photos I've taken of the kids, etc. - and they arrive in good time (and as they're posted from within the US, there's no international postage/air freight, etc. going on). It's a thoughtful gift for their generation - but will our children care?

Expand full comment

As my dad and I get older, we just skip the card and I give him a call. He enjoys that more, it seems.

Expand full comment