24 Comments

Mark (and all!), this is a great idea. I hope many take part. I live south of the border just outside a small hamlet in North Carolina named Rougemont. It turns out there's a Canadian Rougemont as well, in Quebec I believe. I retired from Duke University about two years ago, but I continue to teach a seminar every fall on "our complex relationships with technology," a topic that resonates with my Substack called "Technocomplex" (https://technocomplex.substack.com). But I should say that many of my posts have but a glancing connection to technology or to complex relationships. I am doing my best to procrastinate on a book project that seems about three-quarters complete. It's a series of essays, partially memoir-like (kinda), that explore the power of the automobile through its art. The car model and the autobiographical bits have to do with my years-long restoration of a 1963 Jaguar E-type. That model was something I coveted from my childhood. Personal website (currently something I'm reviewing to change): https://markdelong.me/ and a restoration journal that's not been updated in a while: https://etype.inetogether.net/.

I'm pretty selective about the newsletters I read, and I was just attracted to Mark's writing style and the range of topics. I enjoy seeing it appear in my inbox!

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

I’m Ian, from Dalhousie but live in Fredericton. I work at UNB as Managing Editor of The Fiddlehead and Studies in Canadian Literature. I have a not-frequently-updated website at ianletourneau.ca but am thinking about starting a Substack. Currently I’m completing my second book of poetry and also editing a book of the selected literary journalism of Nancy Bauer (which will basically contain a literary history of NB and will be hopefully out next year with Chapel Street in Woodstock).

Expand full comment

I’m Alison, I’m from Moncton but live in Miramichi, I’m a hospital librarian, I write another Substack called Subject Headings and oh yeah I grilled Mark on his own newsletter recently 😃

I like reading fun and random things that I might not necessarily seek out myself, you’re delivering!

Expand full comment

Hi Mark -- I love relaxing and reading about things other people find interesting, so this seems to hit the spot. I'm writing about something at least tangentially related, "First Excited State", which is chock-full-o-things *I* think are really cool in physics and astronomy. Its appeal might be, um, somewhat limited, but we're just scratching our own itches, right? :) Thanks for what you do!

Expand full comment

I'm from Florida on the Space Coast. I've been unemployed for many years. Last work was as a web developer and computer programmer. Trying to make it as a writer, copywriter, blogger, etc. If it needs to be written, I want to write it. I'm having a tough time of it (i.e. making money). I have a website: https://www.msmwriter.com.

I came to this newsletter after Mark signed up for mine. I thought it was only right to sign up for his. I'm always intrigued about other people's writing. Everyone writes in a different style. I like "virtual" visiting other countries. I've signed up for a few of Mark's recommended newsletters.

My newsletter is about "My Journey in Life and passion for writing". I started writing in 2013. I would like it if more people would subscribe. I'm working on some funny stories that I've been itching to get up there. https://matthewmurray.substack.com

Expand full comment

Hi Mark! New subscriber here, I'm just getting to know the range of topics you cover in your newsletter and enjoying the variety and the new thought-paths sparked. I'm Stephanie, I live in New Jersey and am often in NYC, but less often since the pandemic! I started out in journalism and then moved into technology and operational risk. I write Risk Musings, basically systems thinking how-tos and various rants/explorations about the use (and mis-use) of risk management.

Expand full comment

Hi Mark, lovely idea for a thread!

I'm Rebecca, and I'm from south-east UK, nearish to the coast around 60 miles from London. I'm a keen solo walker who gets lost at the drop of a hat.

I'm new to Substack, and don't have a web presence otherwise, although I used to until a couple of years ago. I started getting to know 'How About This' just a couple of weeks ago, and am loving the variety in what I'm reading so far!

Expand full comment

Hi Mark, your question makes me thing I need to take not when I subscribe to a Substack, because at this point I can’t remember how I find yours. Often, I will read a thread of Shoutouts or recommendations, go look at all of them, and pick a few to subscribe to for a while--if I end up liking it, great; it not, no harm. (That’s how I subscribed to Mark DeLong’s above.) But I’ve liked it so far. As for me, I’m a former tech exec who decided to escape and pursue a more meaningful life, primarily as a writer (https://tompendergast.substack.com), but I support a couple local car publications, drive my car on the track, make bagels, etc.

Expand full comment

I'm Bryn! I work in healthcare, specifically in research engagement - involving people in research, making it easier to help them take part in studies, and improving how we share the knowledge we've learned from our research. I have a Substack (https://brynphd.substack.com) and a website with more goodies like photography and infographics (https://www.brynphd.com). This post is a great idea, Mark, thanks for doing it!

Expand full comment