8 Comments

Loved. I control whether I’m ‘right’ or ‘witty’ - but ‘loved’ is earned.

Expand full comment

Loved. I often feel like I’m right and witty - these are things I know best about myself. It’s being loved that I’m always a bit anxious about, and depression can really mess with remembering that I am loved. If I had to choose - and could guarantee - loved would be the strongest base.

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Loved. When you're loved, you can be anything - right, wrong, witty, or plain. <3

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Definitely loved. I feel like I’m already right and witty enough of the time.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for your comments! My response would have been right, then witty, then loved but I was taking loved for granted and you rightly pointed out the importance of love. However, if you take these attributes and change the context then would your answer change? Would loved still be your top choice at work, for example?

Expand full comment

Loved, hands down. Right and Witty are in the eyes of the beholder (where I often fail), but to be unconditionally loved? Yes, please.

Expand full comment

Loved. You can practice principles and work on your humour but loved requires another person's participation

Expand full comment