67 Comments

Hi all -- I’m Tad Thurston, a physics/Astro prof at a community college. It turns out I’m interested in most things! On this site I’m writing “First Excited State” intended for beginning students to see some of the interesting things they can know that maybe aren’t necessarily in their textbooks. But outside of science I also love acting, art, music, movies, tv shows... I’m finding I love the Substack platform and my little list of faves to relax and read at odd moments in the day.

Expand full comment

This is fun! I’m Torrie, a lover of all things creative. My interests are reading (literary fiction mostly), writing (creative nonfiction), theater, dance, calligraphy, pottery and painting (collecting). I stumbled over here from Austin Kleon’s newsletter for the writing and journaling inspiration. In my day job, I’m a nonprofit CEO. I’ve been on a 4-month rest/creative sabbatical and today is my first day back to work! My goal is to keep working on my creative practices now that the demands of FT work are back. I live in San Diego in a 1914 Craftsman bungalow with my husband and two pups.

Expand full comment

Hi all! I’m Bryn, and I author “Campfire Notebook” on Substack. I work in healthcare, sharing science that happens in our hospitals, and outside of that I love art, cooking and hiking/birding! Love learning different areas, too, through connections on here, so thanks for the opportunities Mark!

Expand full comment

Hi, fellow HAT-ters: I'm Rebecca. I live near the south coast of England, where we're currently experiencing our second long heatwave of summer 2022.

I like to walk, think and write, preferably at the same time. I get remarkably lost remarkably often, and having never really noticed it, nor much ever having thought about it, getting lost - or trying not to - has now become a THING...! I'm taking time to work on developing the sense of direction I've always lacked, and I'm enjoying my adventures along the way.

I enjoy routines and planning, and am interested in all kinds of things. I love words, and I love things that make sense. I find myself exasperated by the things that I don't understand, so I read everything I can to try to fill in the many and varied gaps in my knowledge.

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hey!

I'm Adi, a high school student in California. I'm interested in statistics and computer science, and I'm about to enter 12th grade.

I'm working on a lot of stuff right now - college applications, Boy Scouts, school clubs, recovering my social life, and a blog.

Expand full comment

Hello friends. I’m Alison. I’m a hospital librarian, book reviewer, occasional artist, and a sometimes writer. My entire goal in life right now is to finish reading the Booker longlist before the shortlist is announced. I’m supposed to be working on a painting commission but I started a puzzle on Monday and it’s my current thing!

Expand full comment

It's great to subscribe Mark.

I'm Seun Olatunji a Design Strategist with the believe that design should create a positive change and inspire with beautiful intelligent craftsmanship. I help businesses innovate better by deploying strategic and design thinking skills.

I recently joined substack, sharing weekly newsletter 'The Creativity In You.' I believe everyone has innate creative abilities. However, creativity requires an accurate balance of both nature and nurture. I share awareness of these abilities and how they can be nurtured, harnessed and deployed to create Impact.

Kindly support my work :))

Expand full comment

Hi MarkI appreciate this opportunity. I’m Rae. I recently started putting my work out there on my newsletter called “Creative Human Healing. A documented journey of art, poetry and thoughts on being a creative, a mother, and whole being.” My life is in progress and so is my art. Never quiet finished, continuing experimentation, my life is my own design project in consistent design/build phase.

I’m sharing my story and life but also methods, books, podcast and techniques that have led to healing In my own inner experience in hopes they can help others.

I wish you peace and love today.

Thank you for much for your gifts here.

With kindness,

Rae

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

My name is Nora . I like sports. Hockey and baseball being my favourites . I have a keen interest in politics. I like to alley bowl . In the summer I like to lawn bowl.

I work at a Convenience store

I like to write. Currently just writing letters.

Expand full comment

Hi Mark! What a great thread idea!

Aside from my SS newsletter, I'm a Buddhist writer and journalist lady living in Brooklyn. I wear the same thing every day and eat the same thing every day. I love to ride my bike and read on the couch. I volunteer a lot at the local meditation center. I'm in recovery and drink WAY too much coffee. I have a sweet dog named Minnie.

Right now I'm working on a theme song for my newsletter and getting ready to take a week off for my annual cabin vacation. Yippee!!!!

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hey -- I'm Bob. I moved from Canada's capital to a small town in Ontario last winter as part of a semi-retirement / change of life for my partner and I. Working on some radio and audio projects, and a novel. When I'm not doing that, I'm probably listening to music, making music, or organizing a concert.

Expand full comment

Hi everyone--I'm Holly. I work as an IT security analyst and live in a small rural town in Mississippi where we own an operate an event venue in a 119-year-old building. I've been writing on Substack for a couple of months now and love the platform as I'm discovering new writers there (like Mark!). I write about various topics so you never know what you might find there (thoughts on parenting, being a stem cell donor for my brother, the joy of eyebrows, foxes in the yard, supporting my young adult son in his recovery journey, and my recent digital detox).

Expand full comment

Howdy everyone! Morgan here from SLC. Huge bookworm, musician. Work with entrepreneurs.

My newsletter is morg minute. I write about my experiences in the world of startups.

Topics covered: business development, creative outreach, sales, investor relations, art, language

Please stop on by! 👋

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2022·edited Aug 11, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hi everyone, James (call me Jim) Fisher here in beautiful Miramichi New Brunswick. I am originally from Ontario, my wife Diane & I having moved here approx. 15 years ago now. I work as a Medical Imaging Technologist at the local hospital. I also own and wear the hat of Editor-in-Chief of The Miramichi Reader, a book review site that has garnered national attention. I also host a podcast, (TMR Podcast) where I interview authors and interesting people like Mark here. If you are interested in reviewing a CanLit book, please feel free to contact me. Or if you have written a poem or short story, please submit it for consideration.

Expand full comment

Hey, Mark and Friends! I'm Kathleen and I'm a recovering social media manager. I did ballet for 14 years, studied fashion design for 2, worked in the performing arts for 5, failed a fine art major (and instead did something closer to a communications degree) and now I'm working for a newspaper while I set up a freelancing business.

Currently, I'm working on a four-part series about a firebrand journalist during the French Revolution. He was one of the biggest advocates for sending people to the guillotine, so unsurprisingly, he was the target of an assassination. The series is part of a larger series exploring witch hunts throughout history.

You can read part 1 here: https://www.thecharrette.co/p/the-friend-of-the-people-pt-1

And part 2 here: https://www.thecharrette.co/p/the-friend-of-the-people-pt-2

Expand full comment

I'm Mark Baker, recently returned to Atlantic Canada after half a lifetime away. I used to be a technical writer. Now I am a novelist. I write the newsletter, Stories All the Way Down (https://storiesallthewaydown.com). My first published novel is an 8th-century historical called The Wistful and the Good (http://mybook.to/thewistfulandthegood) and my second, a fairytale fantasy called Lady Isabel and the Elf Knight is available for pre-order ( https://mybook.to/LadyIsabelandtheElfKnight).

Expand full comment

Here I go--loving you Mark! Me: Most of my posts are free, but I did go paid, Sundays always free and on the arts. I offer a FREE week to anyone who sends me @ mltabor@me.com your email address--so I can do that! Author three books (short story collection, memoir, novel)--am in current literary magazines. Taught creative writing over a decade at George Washington University, lecturer at the Smithsonian's Campus-on-the-Mall, visiting author U of Missouri. Developed a course on creative writing here (I also teach privately an even more in-depth course using copyrighted stuff I can't use here!) I believe this from my heart: The process of writing is an ongoing, changing effort—a deeply human experience. We all have language and consider this: the “word” as Emerson said, “if traced to its root, is found to be borrowed from some material appearance. Right means straight,” “wrong” means twisted. “spirit” primarily means wind … the whole of nature is a metaphor of the human mind,” he explains in Nature, Chapter IV, “Language.” Write me @ mltabor@me.com and big xo to all! Hoping to get Mark to join me on a post! I'll be in touch!

Expand full comment

Hi I'm Will, pretty sure I got here through the Substack Writers Unite discord. The review of Star Trek Strange New Worlds was part of what got me to sign on, plus the links and interviews.

I like writing, video games, mythology/ancient religion, and writing video games that use mythology. I'm into niche fighting games, so if you need any help getting into that genre I can help point out some easy to miss games.

My substack is the Warthog Report. It has both serialized fiction, with the current story being styled like a script + walkthrough of a fighting game that only exists in my head, and blog posts about different subjects. My latest blog post is on the term 'dead game' and why it's not used correctly. I'm also getting ready to add another section where I just ramble about different stuff I like with no argument beyond 'this is cool please talk to me about it.'

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hi all, I’m Scott Marshall, an old schoolmate and friend and sometimes collaborator of Mark’s. I toil as a technical writer during the day and spend the rest of my time making comics and making babies apparently.

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Hi Mark,

My name is Minh, a long time writer ;) (for my age) and also a corporate worker haha - that feels odd coming out of my mouth to be honest. I love reading and writing about life's discoveries and cool research that can be directly applicable or useful to everyday life. I'm reading two books: The Omnivore's Dilemma and Atomic Habits. My long term dream is to become a writer and can support myself full time on it! Thanks for always supporting my publication, you are awesome

Expand full comment

Hello, Everyone - sorry to be a couple of days late, but this is my first opportunity to catch up with all things digital! I'm Bryan Padrick - and I write The Bus, a twice-weekly letter. Like many of you, I have numerous interests - and want to share them with as many readers as possible. My basic idea is simple: when I was a student, we had card catalogues. I'd flick through them to find what I was looking for, but would get distracted by all the cool stuff along the way. And that's what The Bus is about - all those cool things along the way. Oh, and by Mark's definition, I'm also a 'long-term' reader of How About This - which is one of the best Substacks I've seen, so hopefully that means something! Best wishes to you all.

Expand full comment

Hello! My name is Pamela and I live on Vancouver Island on the west coast of Canada. Word lover, photo taker, knitting fiend and very amateur artist. Happily married to The Husband who loves to cook. she/her

I came via Austin Kleon and the wonderful people in his comments.

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2022·edited Aug 12, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

Thanks so much, Mark, for the invitation and hi to everyone. A really nice bunch here.

I’ve enjoyed your newsletter so far Mark, I’m a newbie sign-up, one of those. Glad to be here.

Originally, I was using writing and sharing in my wordpress and newsletter as a means to increase my cognition through tough times after a concussion; I’m so much better now, yet still dealing with post-concussion symptoms and bringing in topics of being of service, finding joy, pleasure, coping, in the face of darkness, grief, collapse..

As with sooooo many folks in the world, I’m coming out of a 2-year covid isolation slumber — with renewed vigor (and one eye on m. pox).. the way I’m producing, frequency and content are on the table for examination, taking queues from Austin Kleon and others..

I make things, write things, play with yarn (knitting socks atm), aiming to re-claim my sewing prowess, embroidery and designs. Cooking inventive salads (and cakes with local fruit) keeps me sane (as does writing).. and, my core values include social responsibility, community and indigenous sovereignty.. ❤️

Expand full comment

Hello. I’m Richard Helppie, host of The Common Bridge. Interested in being part of new media model. The Common Bridge podcast has reached over 3 million downloads. Now expanding to columns. More importantly, seeking guest columnists and commenters.

The Common Bridge is a fiercely nonpartisan program that seeks policy responses to the issues of the day and opportunities of the moment. Occasionally some political commentary and plenty of discussion on reporting.

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman

I'm Scott. I'm an IT professional and have been for many years. In the before-times my main interest was travel -- primarily Europe, and also Central America and the Caribbean. Hopefully that can resume soon -- we were in the early stages of planning a trip to Japan.

Aside from that, I have some culinary education and also make music (guitar, piano, synth). I've debated a couple of times actually writing something (like a novel, say) but never seem to stick with it.

I guess I should also mention I do a lot of DIY -- currently in the middle of renovating a bedroom.

Also -- I like em-dashes.

I found Mark on Twitter somehow, and haven't really ventured elsewhere on Substack. I probably should though.

Expand full comment

Hello everyone! my name is Bih and I'm interested in the arts (fashion, photography, literature), commentary on society and self development, and spirituality. I also love to dance. My primary niche is ballet but I'm hoping to expand my niche as my skills improve. I currently write a newsletter on Substack called Food for Thought that uses social, political, and pop cultural events to explore the human psyche

Expand full comment

I live in the Pacific NW, love the Pacific Ocean, serve as an academic advisor at a community college, read voraciously, write essays and poetry, and am interested in documentary studies.

Expand full comment

This is an awesome idea! Hey everyone, I'm Calihan and just recently started my blog/signing up for this newsletter but have been wanting to write like this for a long time! I don't have a particular niche but I love writing about my experiences in university, my upcoming move to Madrid, and anything going on in the economy! I'm a rising junior in college studying economics, photography, and Spanish.

Expand full comment

I'm Matt. I write all kinds of subjects. I write about condo living, saving money, trials and tribulations of job searching, homelessness, things I see on my travels, etc. You get the picture. Anything out there is fair game. I've got some new subject areas planned that I'll be talking about soon. Have a look around and if you haven't subscribed yet, do it!

Expand full comment

Hi everyone - I'm a writer of serialised fiction, which is something I've been doing for about seven years now. I write and publish as I go in, so it's something of a public first draft. I'm currently working on a new book called Tales from the Triverse which is proving to be lots of fun. Free to read on my Substack.

Expand full comment

Hi all, hope I’m not too late to the party, but I recognize so many already here! My name is Tom Pendergast and I’m happy to say that I’m now a writer, writing on my Substack (https://tompendergast.substack.com) and working on a novel, which I work describe as dystopian realism. I say NOW a writer, which implies that I once was something else, and that’s true: I recently ended a long run with a cybersecurity company where I was, at the end, the Chief Learning Officer. Before that, my wife and I ran a book packaging company. And before that, I completed a PhD in American Studies at Purdue. I live in Snohomish, Washington, with my wife, the artist Sara Pendergast, and enjoy frequent visits from my grown kids. I’m prone to looking on the bright side. Thanks Mark.

Expand full comment

Hey there! I'm Mark (the other one) and my interests are wide and varied. Everything from surf music to old-time radio to drive-in movies. I write about all this and more at "The Fyve Spot", your one-stop shop for lowbrow talk and cheesy humor.

I'm also an author of episodic fiction and talk about my projects in that area as well as just the writing process in general.

I've been having a lot of fun on Substack and think the platform is really going to take off. Glad to be here and stop by if you get a spare minute. :)

Expand full comment
RemovedAug 11, 2022Liked by Mark Dykeman
Comment removed
Expand full comment